Tank Guide Thursday: Hero in a Half Shell – Tortos

Over the millennia, small amounts of mogu flesh-shaping magic seeped into the caverns below the Thunder King’s citadel. The dark energies warped one of the chamber’s native dragon turtles, melding it to the surrounding crystalline walls. Known as Tortos, this amalgamation of flesh and stone has since feasted on the cave’s rich mineral deposits and grown to a colossal size.

Tortos

If you haven’t seen the video for this encounter, you can check out the Fatboss guide here, or the Tankspot guide here.

Talents

The Talents that I recommend for this encounter are;

Tier 1 – I’m sure you’re surprised, but this tier is up to you, I take Tiger’s Lust, but pick whichever you want.

Tier 2 – I use Chi Wave for this talent, but I have also used Zen Sphere.

Tier 3 – I use Ascension here, but it’s up to you again.

Tier 4 – I would recommend either Charging Ox Wave or Leg Sweep here. But beware, stunning mobs will sync their swing timers, and you might take 5-10 hits at once.

Tier 5 – For this tier I use Dampen Harm.

Tier 6 – I use Rushing Jade Wind for this fight. If you are just tanking Tortos you can use Invoke Xuen.

Glyphs

The Major Glyphs that I use for this fight are;

Glyph of Spinning Crane Kick

Glyph of Fortifying Brew

Glyph of Zen Meditation

The Fight

For this fight you will be performing one of two possible jobs. The first being tanking Tortos, the second being tanking the bats that spawn throughout the encounter.

Tanking Tortos

Tanking Tortos is the easier tanking job in this fight, and as a Brewmaster, I suggest that you tank the bats, not Tortos. If you are tanking Tortos however, you should be taking Invoke Xuen instead of Rushing Jade Wind.

The main damage that Tortos does to the tank is from his ability called Snapping Bite. This ability can be dodged, so using Elusive Brew for it is a good idea. To deal with Snapping Bite, just rotate through Guard and Elusive Brew, using Dampen Harm and Fortifying Brew around the Quake Stomp casts.

Tanking the Bats

As a Brewmaster you should be tanking the bats. The bats spawn on a timer, roughly every 30 seconds or so (I think). If you have a Holy Paladin in your raid, ask them to use Righteous Fury, so that the bats move towards a single point instead of everywhere. Make sure that you have a good cooldown when you first grab aggro of the bats. They hit very hard, and if you have less then 350k health they will start healing when they attack you. Rotate between Guard and Elusive Brew to help your healers out, using Fortifying Brew when you are tanking them and ask for healer cooldowns (Ironbark, Pain Suppression) if it isn’t up.

Quake Stomp is a problem while you are tanking the bats, as it deals 65% of your health and stuns you, so Dampen Harm should be used for every Quake Stomp.

Brewmaster Tips:

The top tips that I have for this fight are;

  1. You can use Nimble Brew to break the Quake Stomp stun early.
  2. While tanking the bats, as long as you have a good Shuffle uptime, use Breath of Fire after a Keg Smash.
  3. Dizzying Haze can be used to grab the bats if you happen to not be close to where they come down.
  4. Tank the bats next to Tortos so that you and other Melee can cleave damage.
  5. DPS Tortos while there are no bats up to help your raid and keep your buffs up.

So that’s it from me today everyone, I hope that you have learned something from reading these. Do you have any tips for these fights as a Tank? Let me know through comments below this post. If you have any feedback I would love to hear it.

As always if you have any questions, suggestions or comment you can reply here, you can contact me on Twitter at @matthews9292 or you can email me at monkdownunder@gmail.com

~ by matthewsmonk on June 7, 2013.

3 Responses to “Tank Guide Thursday: Hero in a Half Shell – Tortos”

  1. I’ll be honest, I didn’t use my defensive cooldowns enough last time so I will use them more. I will also see if I can get some assistance from the healers on taking those bats, but yeah every 30 seconds you can only use that fortifying brew & dampen harm once in a while. It’s not too terrible though, I sometimes cancel my spinning crane kick early if I get low on stagger. Blowing fire also helps to disorientate the bats. If I need to sometimes get my stagger back up I try to tank those bats close enough to Tortos to do some blackout kicks. One of my favorite parts of being a brewmaster has always been dizzying haze, and that skill is so perfect for this fight. I’ll try to use nimble brew during those quake stomps, I forgot about that.

    • Dampen Harm around the Quake Stomps can help, as it can deal a large chunk of damage to you. I’ve found that generally most of the bats are dead by the time that the Stomp happens, but if you can time it right you can stun or disorient them just before the stomp, so while your healers are stunned you aren’t taking any damage. Make sure that you use Expel Harm when you see your health dipping below 350k, so that they don’t heal.

      Something that I have found to be fairly useful is placing a Cancelaura macro for Spinning Crane kick into Spear Hand Strike and Purifying Brew (if you want), so that if you need to interrupt or quickly Purify Stagger you can.

  2. You can just roll backwards away from the bats right before the stun and take 0 damage from the bats for a couple seconds then clash them. Also many guilds with a monk tank just kite the bats around the room the whole fight and don’t kill them at all.

Leave a Reply

 
The Monk Down Under

A blog about gaming and other things

Sunnier's Art of War

A blog for Brewmaster Monks

Zen Pilgrimage

A Monk's Journey

rikudou-wow

A blog for Brewmaster Monks

Spyker Monk in World of Warcraft

A blog for Brewmaster Monks

Journey of a Drunken Panda

A blog for Brewmaster Monks

